To learn everything about the European Union: a full, up to date analysis of the Member States, the Union and the euro area.
lang lang
Permanent Atlas
of the European Union
With its 27 Member States and its 447 million inhabitants the European Union is the leading economic power in the world.
And yet when people speak of it, they only mention the problems experienced in its construction and it remains largely misunderstood.
This third edition of the Atlas of the European Union is a work of reference that presents the Union, its institutions, each of its Member States and their overseas territories via their history, their culture and their reality. With over 50 maps, original information sheets and synthetic statistics, it offers a unique view of Europe and is accessible to all.

It is a vital tool to get to know and to understand the issues at stake in the 21st century, the current challenges and the opportunities for Europe and the euro in a world in transformation.
Written by experts at the Robert Schuman Foundation – one of the very foremost think-tanks devoted to European integration – the Atlas provides easy to find information on Europe.

Innovative because it is permanent, meaning that via free access to the website, its content is regularly updated so that everyone can access the most recent data on an ever-evolving Europe at any time.
With the Editions Marie B, the Robert Schuman Foundation has published the 3rd English edition of the Permanent Atlas of the European Union, a book full of geopolitical information.

The information in this Atlas is regularly updated. To access it, enter your email address below and the ISBN of the book.

Online update access

Italy - mise à jour le 22nd July 2022
  Estonia - mise à jour le 19th July 2022
European Union - mise à jour le 18th July 2022
A plain invaded on many occasions from all sides, bordered in the East by the Carpathian Mountains and by the Black Sea in the West, Romania is a recent country, whose first origins date back to the 14th century. Strongly linked to Western Europe for linguistic and political reasons it almost completely disappeared following the pact concluded between Hitler and Stalin. During the Cold War, it became the Soviet satellite which undoubtedly suffered the worst dictatorship. The economic and political consequences can still be felt and explain why Romania was unable to join the EU only in 2007, after undertaking some major reforms. The seventh most populous country of Europe, close to the gas fields of Central Asia, Romania could soon become a key partner in European integration.
Permanent Atlas of the European Union, 30 information sheets and analyses to learn everything there is to know about the European Union. .
©2021 - Permanent Atlas of the European Union - Edition Lignes de Repères - Fondation Robert Schuman - all rights reserved - contact